top of page

iOS - A Lesson on User Experience


One year and three months - that is how long I have switched from Android to iOS. Back in June 2016, I got my first iPhone, the iPhone SE. Special Edition? Small Edition? Whatever SE stood for, I must admit I really enjoyed using it. But that is not the point of today's article.

Instead, I would like to briefly reflect on what I have learnt from iOS: the things that makes it awesome and also the those that makes it imperfect. With the new iPhones launching in a couple of days, there is no better time to do this.

 

Lets begin with the flaws. When I swapped to iOS, the thing that bothered me the most was the way files are handled. Yes, you do not get access to many of the files your iPhone is connected to a computer, or even on the device itself, which is a pain in the ass. There is no download app like on Android, so good luck finding the file you just downloaded. But that is not all.

Unlike Android, each app sort of has its own "folder" that other apps do not have direct access to. In order to access a file in another app, apps need to communicate with one another. But if the apps have not been programmed to do so, which happens occasionally, you are screwed.

With iOS 11, we see Apple's attempt to make files in iOS more manageable with the new Files app. Instead of going through different apps to search for a photo, you can find (almost) all of them here. At the current stage, this app does not offer much but give Apple some time and we might see huge changes in the way iOS handles files soon.

Another pet peeve I had with iOS is the absence of mobile data toggle in the control center. Every time I wanted to turn it on/off, I had to open the settings app and do it from there, and then close the settings app. Thankfully, iOS 11 addresses that with a redesigned control center.

 

Unknowingly, I have covered one of the reasons I love iOS.

While iOS may not have the most perfect implementation of everything, Apple is very open to feedback and changes. The process of getting on iOS beta is so easy, basically anyone can do so. Once you are on iOS beta, you get access to the very thorough feedback app.

I would like to see Apple open the app to non-beta users, with a shorter process for submission of feedback. I am sure non tech-savvy iOS users have a lot of things to contribute as well.

 

Moving on to the second reason iOS is amazing. iOS updates, while not as feature-packed as what I am used to on Android, is consistent across all devices, no matter how old or how much you pay for them. Of course, that is unless it has been phased out by Apple.

I am not just talking about getting updates on all devices on the same day, for over 3 years. Unlike what I have experienced on most Android devices, you are getting the (almost) exact same set of features on all iOS devices, unless it is a hardware limitation.

Perhaps this is the reason why iPhones retain their value really well compared to their Android counterparts. iPhones age really well. Even after a new iPhone launch, you do not get the feeling that your iPhone is outdated, at least not as much as an Android phone.

 

Lastly, I would like to talk about the App Store, specifically the Featured page. It is so good I get frustrated with the Play Store whenever I use my Redmi Note 4. What's the difference?

The play store's equivalent of the Featured page would be the Apps & Games page, which houses a list of apps by categories, some are really random like "Apps in Chinese" (when the phone is in English) or "Simplify Your Day". Feels as if Google is dumping everything at you.

Meanwhile, App Store's featured page is a lot shorter, featuring only apps that iOS feels you might be interested, as well as some new apps and games Apple personally recommends. In contrast to the Play Store, this feels curated and a lot more personal.

On iOS 11, Apple is taking "personal" to a whole new level with the Today page, updated with new content everyday. Each App of the Day is accompanied by a short summary or review of the app. Although I do not like the new layout, I really like what Apple is doing.

Also, who doesn't like free app of the week?

 

In the past, I used to criticize iPhones a lot due to the lack "huge leaps" between iterations of iPhones. Okay, I still do today, but my point is that I found a new appreciation in iOS.

It taught me a lot about user experience, things that many phone manufacturers tend to neglect. You are not their customer only at the point of purchasing a phone. You become their customer when you purchase a phone and that is just the beginning.

At the moment, neither platform can convince me to completely ditch the other so I will still be using both.

All the best to Apple for the launch of the new iPhones! : )

Apple, if you are still reading this, will you do me a favor and make Pinyin music sorting available on English settings? Thank you!

Images above created with Screener app, available on the Google Play Store.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page